//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

How to Start a Consulting Business on a limited Budget.

How to start a Consulting Business? (For theGuy/Gal Next Door)

By: Justus Bey

What makes my advice different?

There are many places you can go to find out how to start a consulting Business. I will explain how to start a consulting business with the smallest amount of capital possible. Honestly, when I started my business twelve years ago,I gave up buying my lunch for two weeks to get incorporated. I thought I needed to be incorporated to get started. That was wrong.

I will provide you advise that I have tested out in the real consulting world. I do not know everything, but I have learned a few things along the way that I am sure will help you in your new adventure. Welcome to the world of the Technocrat.

I am going to show you how I started my business. I am also going to show you the mistakes I made along the way. Then I will show you what I have learned so that you can avoid making the same mistake.

Before you go any further, I suggest you answer the three following questions:

  • 1.    How will you build your business?
  • 2.    What do you need to get started?
  • 3.    What can you do that other people will pay you to do?

Below you will find two definitions that will be important to understanding my writing.

Consultant – Someone who helps a business do something that they cannot accomplish with their current staff. They are suppose to be experts in their fields, but not every consultant meets that requirement.  Good Consultants are always learning to improve their skills. The more experience a consultant brings to the situation the more useful they will be.

Technocrat
(my personal definition) – A consultant who specializes in technology. Not only do they have a wide range of technical skills, but they also have highly developed people skills. They know that the customer is right even if the customer is obviously wrong. They always give their best effort and then some more for their clients. They put the client first since it is not only about the money.

What do you need to get started?
1.    Check to see if you are required to have any government approval to provide your service in your area. You might need a basic business license or something more.  Your local government will be able to let you know.

2.    You must have a service to provide. My service is technology, but my niche is solving technical problems using plain English for non-technical clients. If you are unsure, then take some time to make a list of things that you can do that you can offer as a legal for pay service.

3.    I cannot emphasize enough to setup some type of Business entity. Please consult with a lawyer or an account for a complete explanation. I have also listed some online references you should Google or search on Wikipedia

  • Sole Proprietorship
  • Limited Liability Company
  • Corporation (C or S)

Writer’s Bio: This article was written by Mr.Justus Bey who is a 12 year Technology Consultant
For any question or comments you may follow Mr.Bey at the following Social Networking sites.

Twitter: Techangel_bey or search Justus Bey on Facebook.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “How to Start a Consulting Business on a limited Budget.

  1. Justus – As a fellow technocrat, I found this post interesting, and will be following this great lead. I have a business entity as you suggested, now the magic question is where can a an aspiring independent technocrat find client(s)?

    Regards,

    Radi Shourbaji
    http://twitter.com/technopodge
    http://linkedin.com/in/rshourbaji

    Posted by Radi Shourbaji | December 23, 2008, 10:47 pm
  2. Makes a lot of sense. Seems like the writer has a lot of personal experience.

    Posted by Leroy K. Yuan | December 23, 2008, 11:17 pm
  3. Hi Justus,

    great to see you here.

    OK, I have some resources I’ll send your way.

    1. signup for Kevin Hogan’s ezine coffee:
    http://www.kevinhogan.com/subscribe.htm
    (I HOPE it lets me put in hyperlinks. will know as soon as I press SUBMIT)

    2. I have a few books to recommend. I’ll put them up at a page at my website b/c otherwise it is too long for here. Once I have that, I’ll ping ya.

    TTYS

    All the best,

    April Braswell
    Online Dating Coach and Dating Expert
    http://www.aprilbraswell.com/

    Posted by April Braswell | December 23, 2008, 11:26 pm
  4. Hi Justus, I hate pushing the site I work for, but just to let your readers (and you) know that there’s a lot of good Small Business and the Law information on Lawyers.com. From the types of business licenses to what determines a independent contract employee to helpful forms. More info than what’s up there now will be posted shortly. I wouldn’t say anything if it wasn’t related to your blog post.

    Good luck to your ventures!

    Kristin

    Posted by Kristin Conner | December 24, 2008, 3:58 pm

Leave a Reply

