//
you're reading...
Blogging tips and things, Social Media, Twitter

Twitter: Premium Business Plan?

Twitter icon set
Image by bertop via Flickr

By: Larry Lewis

(Update) 1pm cst

I read an interesting post today indicating that Twitter was announcing the implementation of Premium Accounts. The story appears to be unconfirmed but does raise some interesting ideas. The high points of the post follows.

Twitter, the leading and hottest microblogging site, has announced that it will be adding Premium accounts. This marks an end to the long awaited business model which people have wondered about for some time. These premium accounts are broken down into the following options.

  • Sparrow ($5/month) – Users get 145 character limit, 5 extra random followers.
  • Dove ($15/month) – Users get 160 character limit, 25 extra random followers, 1 random celebrity follower, auto-spell check, “Fail Whale” T-shirt.
  • Owl ($50/month) – Users get 250 character limit, 100 extra random followers, 2 random celebrity followers, 30 minutes on recommended list, auto-spell check, “Fail Whale” hoodie.
  • Eagle ($250/month) – Users get 500 character limit, 1000 extra random followers, 3 celebrity followers of their choice, 5 hours on recommended list each month, Twitter Concierge for Tweeting while user is asleep or busy (and more), auto-spell check, “Fail Whale” tuxedo, custom “Fail Whale” page when service is down.

Twitter has experiened phenominal growth over the last year and should be poised to take full advantage of these Business and Corporate packages. I wonder how it will affect the rest of us?

How do you feel about the idea of Premium Accounts on Twitter and what effect do you think it will have on you and the service?

Get more info on this story from Dove Premium Account holder Brian Briggs at his site BBSPOT

You can follow me on twitter at Realmatrix and leave me a comment

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Discussion

2 thoughts on “Twitter: Premium Business Plan?

  1. Strange… I have no idea what the “5 random extra followers” benefit means, but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t pay extra for 5 more characters. The whole essential beauty of Twitter is in its limitations! As someone who writes more than I need to, I love Twitter because it forces conciseness. I enjoy and expect the same conciseness from the people/groups that I follow. I mean god, there’s junk snail mail and e-mail spam and pop-up ads and complimentary subscriptions from print media who are bleeding money and won’t compliment you by listening to your passionate request that they stop sending you their instant-recycling-material… Twitter is my safe haven, my happy place.

    I can see for-profit and larger orgs paying for this service, but there is something about the way Twitter works that makes me think it was produced to avoid the visual-junk-mail of corporate identities to begin with — if I don’t want to get saturated I just don’t have to follow. I see Twitter’s revenue-building value in its functionality, and in other platforms accessing and using that functionality (you don’t think ExecTweets has paid a nice royalty to Twitter for the brand endorsement? I do…).

    Posted by aesdanae | March 24, 2009, 5:16 pm
  2. I suspect somebody has a sense of humour…???

    Posted by Eileen Schuh | July 15, 2010, 3:49 am

Leave a Reply

